OCC Forums

Galvanic Isolation

https://forum.oceancruisingclub.org/Topic4800.aspx

By bbalme - 16 Jan 2019

I am confused as to what a galvanic isolation transformer (GIT) is and what/how it does.

Ours is an American boat - with 110V circuits and 'protected' by a galvanic isolation transformer.
The previous owner also installed a 240V Generator and added a few 240V circuits in Toodle-oo!

I am now plugged into 240V shore power and realize that I don't have a GIT specific to that circuit... - or do I? Since it operates on the earth, is the GIT working no matter what shore supply is applied? (I'm 98% sure that the earth of both circuits is connected!)

I have not noticed significant anode erosion in the past - I guess I'll find out how badly I screwed up in a couple of weeks when they haul the boat!
By Dick - 16 Jan 2019

Hi Bill,

I am no expert. My understanding:
Galvanic isolators (GIs) are not, to my knowledge, referred to as galvanic isolator transformers. They are not transformers: they just isolate. If I am correct in my former statement, I suspect you are conflating GIs with isolation transformers which are the gold standard in protecting the boat, but a whole separate order of size and complexity. It is possible that GIT may be a way of describing equipment on your side of the pond, but I have not heard it before.
A galvanic isolator (GI) is a fairly simple safety device (small in size and weight) that breaks the green ground wire of your shore power cord and the device is inserted in series. Its job is to block low voltage DC current (the kind that causes galvanic corrosion), but still allow AC current from a fault flow through thereby protecting the user from the kind of shock one might get say, from a defective toaster.