Stand up Paddle Boards

Author
bwallace
Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)Junior Member (82 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi,
Stand Up Paddle Boarding (SUP) is a fast growing sport.
I see many boats now have one on the side decks. I have been Supping for about 6 years, and l enjoy getting about on the board most days. Weather permitting.

As the popularity of the sport grows, the choice on the market is also growing. On a boat, an inflatable board is the way to go. They roll up to the size of an average sail, and can be stowed in a locker when on passage.
Now having decided that you fancy one which do you buy?
Price for an average board vary tremendously a few hundred to over a thousand pound or similar in Euros now.

You do get what you pay for, and there are quite a few sites that can give you advise on what to buy, sadly they nearly all have a commercial element to their sites, but for a reasonable guide have a look at https://www.kingofwatersports.com/stand-up-paddle-boarding-buying-guide.

This gives various sizes, paddle guidance and safety information.

One of the main points I want to make is that if you are a reasonably keen person wanting to get a bit more out of the sport, than tootling lazily around the boat, be careful what you select. The best type of board for average weight and height would be between 10.3 and 11.6 feet length average width 32 inches. The critical factor is the thickness of the board when inflated.