Filling the fuel tank for lay up

Author
Andy.Todd
New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)New Member (27 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm new to sailing, but 'old' from the oil industry. It occurs to me the advice given in the the sailing community is nonsense.
- Polishing wont take the blocking crud out of fuel as the deposites form on and adhere to the tank. Anything in suspensions is small and must be removed on a continuous basis -- which the running engine does anyway.
- The crud is more likely to be degraded hydrocarbon which biocides wont touch and will form in even the best quality diesel.
- It's unlikely condensation is forming in sufficient quantity to cause a problem.

Diesel is hygroscopic. It attracts, but does not bond with water. The water takes two forms, emulsified (always present) and freestanding (at the bottom of the tank). I'm not sure how your average marine separator works, but it may not remove emulsified water. A FuelGuard or Diesel Dipper will remove both. A Mr Funnel works on the same principle and is cheaper.

The water leads to two types of contamination...

1. Microbial growth (Diesel Bug) thrives on the (freestanding) water/diesel boundary and asphaltene (more about this to follow). Once you have this growth in your tank adding new fuel to old accelerates the growth.

2. 'Diesel Sludge' is caused by the natural ageing process whereby molecules lengthen and bond to produce varnishes and gums. These drop to the bottom of the tank to form diesel sludge, containing asphaltene.... which in turn promotes the growth of diesel bug!! Anti-bug additives will not stop the formation of diesel slug.