Best twin headsail set up for downwind ocean crossings?

Author
Sonia Johal
I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)I'm into this (252 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello Team OCC,

I’m a newbie to the OCC, still an associate and still prepping my boat for her first >1000nm ocean crossing.

My boat is a 2014 Hanse385 sailing sloop with furling jib.

My plan is to follow a downwind trade wind route, while using a “twin head sail” instead of my existing asymmetric spinnaker or standard jib with mainsail.

I have heard of Elstrom’s “Blue water runner” and Northsails’ “Tradewind sail”.

C/ Please would you share your own twin head sail recommendations?

D/ Would a bespoke twin head sail made with used sails be efficient enough?
Dick
Dick
Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)Forum Expert (892 reputation)
Sonia.Johal - 22 Oct 2022
Hello Team OCC,

I’m a newbie to the OCC, still an associate and still prepping my boat for her first >1000nm ocean crossing.

My plan is to follow a downwind trade wind route, while using a “twin head sail” instead of my existing asymmetric spinnaker or standard jib with mainsail.

Hi Sonia,
I am aware of a number of systems that skippers have made work, but none that I am aware of, have come into common usage. We reviewed a number back in the day, but ended up relying on a tried and true: a poled-out jib and a mainsail for downwind work. We decided our planned ocean and sailing plans were not dominated enough by downwind conditions to warrant using a set-up of twinned headsails.